On December 2, 1978 — 1978 – The Sporting News announces the Gold Glove winners. Shortstop Mark Belanger wins for the eighth and final time, while first baseman Keith Hernandez and catcher Bob Boone are each honored for the first time.


Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box

This Day In Baseball on Patreon
Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History


Baseball Reference December 2
SABR Games Project
Hall of Fame
National Pastime December 2
Replay The Game
Retro Sheet