On February 10 2019 — 2019 – The Toros de Herrera, representing host country Panama, complete a highly successful return to the Caribbean Series in the country’s first participation since 1960 by defeating Leñadores de Las Tunas, champions of the Cuban Serie Nacional, 3 – 1, in the finale. Over 18,000 fans attend the game at Estadio Rod Carew in an electric atmosphere and see the hometown favorites take a 2 – 0 lead in the bottom of the 1st and never look back. Javy Guerra is named tournament MVP. Manny Corpas saves his 4th game to tie Francisco Butto’s ten-year-old Series record. Panama had won once previously, in 1950.

Baseball Reference February 10
SABR Games Project
National Pastime February 10
Hall of Fame
Replay The Game
Retro Sheet

Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History