On November 10, 2005 — Chris Carpenter (21-5, 2.83) is elected by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America as the National League’s Cy Young Award winner. The Cardinal right-hander, who has been sidelined with injuries during the past two seasons, outpoints Marlins southpaw Dontrelle Willis (22-10, 2.63), becoming the first Cardinal to win the honor since Bob Gibson was selected in 1970.

The Cardinals’ ace receives 19 of 32 first-place votes from the BBWAA and finishes with 132 points, 20 more than Willis, who garners 11 first-place votes. Roger Clemens of the Houston Astros, the only other pitcher named on every ballot, is a distant third with two first-place votes and 40 points.



Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST