On November 8, 1983 — Dale Murphy (.302, 36, 121) joins Ernie Banks (1958-59), Joe Morgan (1975-76), and Mike Schmidt (1980-81) as one of the four National Leaguers who has won the MVP award in consecutive seasons. The soft-spoken Braves’ outfielder receives 21 of the 24 votes cast by the writers.


Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box

This Day In Baseball on Patreon
Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History

Baseball Reference November 8
National Pastime November 8
Retro Sheet
Hall of Fame
SABR Games Project