On January 21, 1953, pitcher Dizzy Dean and outfielder Al Simmons are elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America surprisingly bypasses former New York Yankees great Joe DiMaggio in his first year on the Hall of Fame ballot. DiMaggio will gain an election two years later.

Dean gathers 209 votes while Simmons’ total of 199 is one more than needed. The colorful Dean had a .644 career winning percentage and won 120 games from 1932 through 1936, including 30 wins in 1934. Simmons, who drove in 100 runs in each of his first eleven major league seasons, was one of the most feared hitters of his time. Also joining DiMaggio, who finishes 8th in the voting, are in order Bill Terry, Bill Dickey, Rabbit Maranville, Dazzy Vance, Ted Lyons, Chief Bender (9th) and Gabby Hartnett (10th). All will eventually make it.

The Yankee Clipper will have to wait until 1955 when 88.8% of the BBWAA scribes put his name on their ballot.

Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,293 other subscribers

Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!