On August 3, 1986 — First ballot inductee Giant first baseman Willie McCovey, the BBWAA’s only choice, is enshrined in the Hall of Fame, along with Veterans Committee selections Red Sox second baseman Bobby Doerr and the late Ernie Lombardi, a catcher best known for his playing days with the Reds and Giants. Pirates announcer Bob Prince and Cincinnati beat writer Earl Lawson, respectively, accept the Ford C. Frick Award for broadcast excellence and the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing.

National Pastime

Support us!
Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History