On February 8, 1972, Josh Gibson and Buck Leonard win election to the Hall of Fame through the Special Committee on the Negro Leagues.

The two former stars, who led the Homestead Grays to nine straight league championships from 1937 to 1945, become the second and third players to be selected by the Committee, joining Satchel Paige, who was elected in 1971.

Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,334 other subscribers

Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!