Lou Brock and Hoyt Wilhelm gain election to the Hall of Fame

Jan 7, 1985 | Hall Of Fame Inductions

On January 7, 1985, Lou Brock and Hoyt Wilhelm are elected to the Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

During his career, Brock established the record for the most stolen bases in major league history when he Ty Cobb’s record for stolen bases in 1977 with 893 career steals (which will later be broken by Rickey Henderson), while the knuckleballing Wilhelm pitched in more games than any other major league pitcher (Jesse Orosco will eventually break that mark)he is best remembered for his seasons with the Orioles and the White Sox.

Nellie Fox is named on 295 of the 395 ballots (74.7%), but the BBWAA and the Hall of Fame committee decline to round Fox’s total to the required 75%. As this is Fox’s last year on the ballot, he will only be inducted when he becomes eligible to be considered by the Veterans Committee.

lou brock and hoyt wilhelm
Learn More about the teams, players, ball parks and events that happened on this date in history just click the tags! 1985 | Hoyt Wilhelm | January 7 | Lou Brock