On November 18, 1981 — Philadelphia Phillies third baseman Mike Schmidt wins his second consecutive National League MVP Award, joining Ernie Banks (Cubs, 1958-59) and Joe Morgan (Reds, 1975-76) as the only NL players to take the award back-to-back. In the strike-shortened season, Schmidt hit .316 and led the league in home runs (31), RBI (91), runs (78), walks (73), on-base percentage (.435) and slugging percentage (.644).



Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,199 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST