On January 8, 1987, several high-profile free agents are not signed by a midnight deadline, and thus will not be eligible to re-sign with their clubs until May 1, unless another team offers them a contract. The players: Doyle Alexander, Bob Boone, Andre Dawson, Rich Gedman, Ron Guidry, Toby Harrah, Bob Horner, Lance Parrish, Tim Raines, and Gary Roenicke, will eventually be paid compensation when an investigation shows that owners colluded to keep salaries down.