On November 30, 2009 — Sports Illustrated names Derek Jeter as its Sportsman of the Year, making the ‘Captain’ the first Yankee honored by the magazine. The other baseball recipients to win the award, given annually since SI’s inception in 1954, include Johnny Podres (Dodgers – 1955), Stan Musial (Cardinals – 1957), Sandy Koufax (Dodgers – 1965), Tom Seaver (Mets – 1969), Pete Rose (Reds – 1975), Orel Hershiser (Dodgers – 1988), Cal Ripken Jr. (Orioles – 1995), Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa (Cardinals, Cubs – 1998), Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling (Diamondbacks – 2001), and the entire Red Sox team (2004).

National Pastime

Support us!
Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History