On November 15, 2005 — St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols earns the National League MVP Award, edging Atlanta Braves center fielder Andruw Jones. Pujols was among the NL leaders in most hitting categories and finished with a .330 batting average, 41 home runs and 117 RBI in guiding the Cardinals to the league’s best record at 100-62. He receives 18 of 31 first-place votes in balloting conducted by the BBWAA, outpointing Jones 378-351. Jones hit .263 and led the league with 51 home runs and 128 RBI. He won his eighth consecutive Gold Glove as the Braves claimed their 14th consecutive division title despite playing 18 rookies and losing third baseman Chipper Jones for about a third of the season because of injuries.


Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,286 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST