On September 11, 2014 — The Diablos Rojos del México win their 16th Mexican League title, sweeping the Pericos de Puebla in four games. In the finale today, they lead 6-5 entering the 9th. Closer Manny Acosta nearly blows it, allowing three runs in the top of the 9th, capped by a two-out two-run homer by Jon Del Campo. In the bottom of the 9th, Sergio Gastélum and John Lindsey single and an error by Julio Perez loads the bases. Gabriel Gutierrez singles in one run. Iván Terrazas then hits a sacrifice fly to score Jesus Fabela (a pinch-runner for another pinch-runner for Lindsey; the first pinch-runner had been injured) with the tying run. In the bottom of the 10th, Juan Carlos Gamboa homers for the winning blow, the 7th home run of the game.


Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box

Support This Day In Baseball on Patreon

Baseball Reference September 11
National Pastime September 11
Retro Sheet
Hall of Fame
SABR Games Project
Replay The Game