On November 15, 1967 — Triple Crown winner Carl Yastrzemski, receiving 19 of 20 first-place votes, is selected by the BBWAA as the American League Most Valuable Player. Max Nichols a Minnesota puts the light-hitting Twins infielder Cesar Tovar (.267, 6, 47) on the top of his ballot, denying the 28-year-old Red Sox outfielder of being the unanimous choice for the award.

Yastrzemski, who led the AL in batting average .326, home runs 44, (tied with Killebrew) and RBI 121, will be the last major leaguer to win the Triple Crown in the 20th Century. Yaz lead the Red Sox to the “impossible dream” World Series where they lost in 7 games to the St Louis Cardinals. According to WAR, his 1967 season on 12.5 is amongst one the of 4 best in baseball history and only Babe Ruth is ahead of him.



Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST