On September 14, 1940 — 1940 – The United States, Hawaii, Cuba, Mexico, Nicaragua, Venezuela, and Puerto Rico meet in the 3rd annual World Amateur Baseball Championship tourney, the first championship series to feature more than 3 participants. Cuba, the host country, is the victor for the 2nd consecutive year. The initial tourney had been held in England in 1938 and was also won by the host country, Great Britain.


Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box

Support This Day In Baseball on Patreon

Baseball Reference September 14
National Pastime
Retro Sheet
Hall of Fame
SABR Games Project
Replay The Game