On August 9, 1946 — In MLB’s version of Friday Night Lights, all eight games, scheduled in eight different cities, will be played under the lights. It is equally split 4 in AL and 4 in NL.

It will be the first time in the major league history that every team will participate in an evening tilt on the same night.

Games were hosted in- Boston, New York, Pittsburgh, St. Louis, Chicago, Cincinnati and Philadelphia.

New York Giants 3 Final
Boston Braves 5
W Warren Spahn (5-1)
L Monty Kennedy (6-5)

Detroit Tigers 5 Final
Chicago White Sox 4
W Fred Hutchinson (8-8)
L Eddie Smith (7-8)
S Hal Newhouser (1)

St. Louis Cardinals 5 Final
Cincinnati Reds 2
W Howie Pollet (13-6)
L Bucky Walters (8-4)

Boston Red Sox 4 Final
New York Yankees 3
W Dave Ferriss (19-4)
L Bill Bevens (12-8)

Brooklyn Dodgers 1 Final
Philadelphia Phillies 0
W Kirby Higbe (10-4)
L Oscar Judd (6-10)

Chicago Cubs 9 Final
Pittsburgh Pirates 3
W Paul Erickson (5-2)
L Ken Heintzelman (6-9)

Cleveland Indians 5 Final
St. Louis Browns 4
W Charlie Gassaway (1-0)
L Denny Galehouse (5-9)
S Steve Gromek (3)

Philadelphia Athletics 1 Final
Washington Senators 2
W Mickey Haefner (10-7)
L Lum Harris (2-9)

Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other subscribers

Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!