On November 21, 1970 — The Sporting News announces Gold Glove Award selections. Chicago White Sox shortstop Luis Aparicio wins the ninth and final honor of his career, while New York Mets outfielder Tommie Agee becomes the first position player to win it in each league. Aparicio has now won a gold glove in the 1950s, 1960s, and 1970s, while Agee also won the honor with the White Sox during his 1966 Rookie of Year season.