On November 10, 1987 —  In the closest vote in Cy Young Award history, Philadelphia Phillies relief ace Steve Bedrosian edges Chicago Cubs Rick Sutcliffe, 57-55, to win the National League honors. Bedrosian is the third relief pitcher ever to win the award in the NL, joining Mike Marshall (Dodgers, 1974) and Bruce Sutter (Cubs, 1979) in accomplishing the feat.


Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,588 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST