On November 7, 1989 Gregg Olson of the Baltimore Orioles becomes the first relief pitcher to win the American League Rookie of the Year Award. Olson receives 26 of 28 first-place votes. Tom Gordon and Ken Griffey, Jr. are runner-ups.



Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST