On January 6, 2010 Andre Dawson, “The Hawk”, is elected to the Hall of Fame getting 77.9% of the votes cast by the BBWAA. P Bert Blyleven and 2B Roberto Alomar fall agonizingly short of election, missing the honor by 5 and 8 votes respectively. Dawson, the 1987 National League MVP, played 21 seasons in the majors, principally with the Montreal Expos and Chicago Cubs, hitting .279 with 438 home runs, 1591 RBI and 314 stolen bases.


Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box

This Day In Baseball on Patreon


Baseball Reference January 6

SABR Games Project

National Pastime January 6

Hall of Fame

Retro Sheet

Replay The Game