On November 18, 2008 — Dustin Pedroia wins the 2008 American League Most Valuable Player Award. Pedroia led the American League in doubles and runs, nearly led in batting average and was among the leaders in total bases. He also stole 20 bases and won a Gold Glove in an all-around effort. The scrappy second baseman, the tenth Red Sox player to earn the American League honor, received 16 of the 28 first-place votes to easily outdistance heavy-hitting Twins first baseman Justin Morneau (.300, 23, 129). It had been 49 years since a second baseman – Nellie Fox – was named AL MVP.

He joins Cal Ripken Jr. (Orioles – 1983) and Ryan Howard (Phillies – 2006),  as he becomes the third player in major league history to win the Most Valuable Player award a season after being selected as the Rookie of the Year.


Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,286 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST