On March 2, 2012 — Major League Baseball confirms that starting this year, the postseason will be expanded from 8 to 10 teams, with an extra wild card team in each league. The two wild card teams in each league will play one game to determine which one will then face the team with the league’s best record in the Division Series.

Sources –
Baseball Reference March 2
SABR Games Project
National Pastime March 2
Retro Sheet
Replay The Game

Own this Day and Be Part of Baseball History