On July 26, 2010 — Matt Garza pitches the first no-hitter in the history of the Tampa Bay Rays franchise, blanking the Tigers, 5 – 0. He is helped by a great over-the-shoulder catch by Ben Zobrist in the 3rd inning. The only baserunner is Brennan Boesch, who draws a 2nd-inning walk but is erased in a double play. Matt Joyce hits a 6th-inning grand slam for the Rays, the first hit allowed by Detroit’s Max Scherzer. Tampa Bay had been no-hit twice this season – by Dallas Braden and Edwin Jackson – and has now featured in three of this year’s five no-nos.

Baseball Reference July 26