On ,December 12 1952 — Peter J. McGovern becomes president of the Little League, succeeding Charles Durban, who resigns because of ill health. The Little League began in 1939 with eight teams in two leagues and has grown to over 1,800 leagues in 44 states and several foreign countries.



Subscribe to This Day In Baseball

Get our latest Posts in your in box