On December 2, 1978 — The Sporting News announces the Gold Glove winners. Shortstop Mark Belanger wins for the eighth and final time, while  St Louis Cardinal first baseman Keith Hernandez and catcher Bob Boone are each honored for the first time.

Hernandez will win 11 straight Gold Glove Awards (a MLB record at first base). Boone will win a total of 7 Gold Gloves including at age 38 a run of 4 straight from 1986-1989,  


Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,293 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST