In an epic game 7, the Chicago Cubs win their first World Series title in 108 years by defeating Cleveland, 8 – 7, in Game 7, making up a three games to one deficit in. Dexter Fowler hits a lead-off homer off Corey Kluber, but the Indians manage to tie the score in the 3rd. In the 4th, the Cubs score twice, including one run on a daring rush to the plate by Kris Bryant on a fly ball to CF Rajai Davis that travels perhaps 150 feet. Javier Baez and David Ross also homer for Chicago as the Cubs build up their lead, but Cleveland scores two runs on a wild pitch by Jon Lester in the 6th, then trailing 6 – 4 with two outs in the 8th, Davis homers off Aroldis Chapman to tie the game again.

Play is stopped briefly by rain after the 9th inning, but in the 10th, Ben Zobrist, who is named World Series MVP, puts the Cubs ahead with a double and Miguel Montero adds an insurance run with a single, a run which proves important as the Indians manage to score once in the bottom of the 10th before Mike Montgomery retires Michael Martinez on a grounder to third to clinch the title.

Cleveland now takes over as owners of the longest championship drought in the majors, their last title having come in 1948.