On June 12, 1939, an awe-inspiring collection of baseball’s greatest stars and legendary figures gathers in Cooperstown, New York for the official dedication of the Baseball Hall of Fame. Ty Cobb, Walter Johnson, Babe Ruth, Honus Wagner and the late Christy Mathewson, all of whom had been elected to the Hall of Fame’s inaugural class in 1936, are honored at the first induction ceremonies. Living members Grover Alexander, Eddie Collins, Napoleon Lajoie, Connie Mack, George Sisler, Tris Speaker and Cy Young also receive their Hall of Fame plaques. The day’s events include a seven-inning All-Star game at Cooperstown’s Doubleday Field. Among the future Hall of Famers to participate in the exhibition game are Jay Hanna “Dizzy” Dean, Robert “Lefty” Grove, Hank Greenberg and Mel Ott.