On January 8, 1987, several high-profile free agents are not signed by a midnight deadline, and thus will not be eligible to re-sign with their clubs until May 1, unless another team offers them a contract.

The players: Doyle Alexander, Bob Boone, Andre Dawson, Rich Gedman, Ron Guidry, Toby Harrah, Bob Horner, Lance Parrish, Tim Raines, and Gary Roenicke.

The general lack of interest in the players will become the focus of the Players Association’s first anti-collusion suit against the owners. They will eventually be paid compensation when an investigation shows that owners colluded to keep salaries down.