On January 9, 1990, two new members are elected to the Hall of Fame by the baseball writers: Joe Morgan and Jim Palmer. Morgan, a second baseman, won a pair of MVP Awards in his years with the Cincinnati Reds, and also played for Houston, San Francisco, and Oakland. Palmer spent his entire career with the Baltimore Orioles, winning three Cy Young Awards.