ON February 4, 1956 – Baseball Commissioner Ford Frick introduces the Cy Young Memorial Award in memory of the Hall of Fame hurler who died in 1955, honoring the outstanding major league pitcher of the year.. At first, there will be one award for both major leagues.

The first recipient will be Don Newcombe, who will post a 27-7 record along with an ERA of 3.06 for the Dodgers the following season.


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,592 other subscribers

Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!