Category: Cy Young Award

Brooklyn starter Don Newcombe receives major league baseball’s inaugural CY Young Award

After winning the MVP last week and the Rookie of the Year in 1949, Brooklyn starter Don Newcombe (27-7, 3.06) receives major league baseball’s inaugural Cy Young Award, an honor that will be given to just one hurler until 1967 when each league will name a winner of the prestigious pitching prize. The Dodgers’ director of Community Affairs remains the only player in baseball history to have won all three major postseason awards.

Read More

Join the community

We bring you cool stories about the game, players, ballparks and the people that shaped the game!

Join 10,856 other subscribers

Subscribe to the Daily Rewind Podcast

We have over 60 Categories!