On November 27, 1956 — After winning the MVP last week and the Rookie of the Year in 1949, Brooklyn starter Don Newcombe (27-7, 3.06) receives major league baseball’s first Cy Young Award. Only one pitcher will be selected each season for this prestigious pitching award until 1967 when each league will name a winner. Newcombe received 10 of the possible 16 first place votes. Sal Maglie received 4 and future hall of famers Whitey Ford and Warren Spahn received 1 each. 

The Dodgers’ director of Community Affairs remains the only player in baseball history to have won all three major postseason awards.


Join the Community

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11,294 other subscribers



Subscribe to our Podcast

The Daily Rewind

on Apples Podcast | Spotify  | Google | Stitcher

And connect with us wherever else you listen to Podcast and hangout!




This Day In Baseball – Over 1,000 videos!


on Full Radio Broadcasts | Interviews  | WORLD SERIES Highlights | PODCAST

Game ticket & learn more about the players, teams, stadiums and dates in history